• Education Advocate

The Four Levels of Reading Every Student Should Know About

In How to Read A Book, Van Doren and Mortimer talked about four main levels of reading: elementary reading, inspectional reading, analytical reading, and syntopical reading. Note here that the authors deliberately named them levels and not kinds because, according to them, kinds can be distinct from one another while levels denote a notion of embeddedness with lower levels included in higher ones. In other words, levels of reading are cumulative. Below is an infographic we have created encompassing these four levels of reading we want to bring to your attention. Please have a look and share with us your feedback.

The four levels of reading as conceptualized by Mortimer and Charles Doren: 1- Elementary Reading: it’s also called initial reading, rudimentary reading, or basic reading. Once this level is mastered, readers go from nonliterary to at least beginning literacy. In mastering this level, one learns the rudiments of the art of reading, receives basic training in reading, and acquires initial reading skills.(P. 16). The question that is asked at this level is :what does the sentence say? 2- Inspectional reading: This is also called pre-reading or skimming. This level is characterized by its emphasis on time…its aim is to get the most out of a book within a given time’. This is usually done through an examination of the surface of the book checking things such as the the title of the book, its preface, table of contents, index, publisher’s blurb if available..etc. Upon finishing reading at this level, one should be able to answer the following questions: What kind of book is it (a novel, a history, a scientific treatise)? What is the book about? What is the structure of the book? (P.18-19). 3- Analytical reading: This is a more demanding level for readers. It’s more complex than the preceding levels and represents a thorough and complete form of reading. Analytic reading is ‘hardly ever necessary if your goal in reading is simply information of entertainment.{It is} preeminently for the sake of understanding”. (P.19) 4- Syntopical reading it’s also called comparative reading. This is the most complex and systematic level of reading. A syntopical reader reads different texts on the same subject and compares them to each other to arrive at a holistic and more nuanced understanding of the subject.

At PACE Learning Center, personalization and student engagement is our priority. Our teachers excite students to learn. visit www.PACEKids.org


Featured Posts
Recent Posts

Daly City Center

(650) 994-7223

100 Skyline Plz, Ste 102

Daly City, CA 94015

Mon/Wed 3-6, Sat/Sun 10-3

Higher Level Learning Inc.

San Francisco / Bay Area, California

(888) 489-9791



a non-profit organization


  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Yelp Icon

© 2019 Higher Level Learning, Inc.